Here is an example of something I got from someone in our INBOX:
==============================
Is this email real? email: noreplay@riaa.com
I had it on my mailbox yesterday.
Your site (....it's a mixtape download site....) violates copyright laws and faces legal action.
Please provide legal document for distibution of copywritten music
On the federal level, titles 17 and 18 of the U.S. Code protect copyright owners from the unauthorized reproduction, adaptation or distribution of sound recordings, as well as certain digital performances to the public. The penalties differ slightly, depending upon whether the infringing activity is for commercial advantage or private financial gain. Under U.S. copyright law, \"financial gain\" includes bartering or trading anything of value, including sound recordings.
Where the infringing activity is for commercial advantage or private financial gain, sound recording infringements can be punishable by up to five years in prison and $250,000 in fines. Repeat offenders can be imprisoned for up to 10 years. Violators can also be held civilly liable for actual damages, lost profits, or statutory damages up to $150,000 per infringement, as well as attorney�s fees and costs.
The online infringement of copyrighted music can be punished by up to 3 years in prison and $250,000 in fines. Repeat offenders can be imprisoned up to 6 years. Individuals also may be held civilly liable, regardless of whether the activity is for profit, for actual damages or lost profits, or for statutory damages up to $150,000 per infringed copyright
Tanks a lot for your help
(e-mail and etc. with-held)
=====================
Folks, I don't know anything about this particular "example" given above (...if it is "legit" or whatnot.)
MY advice is to contact a lawyer BEFORE ever responding to ANY e-mail or letter you recieve regarding such things.
Let me stress again:
GET ADVICE OF LAWYER
BEFORE RESPONDING TO THEM IN ANY WAY!!!!
(Even if you think you are "guilty" of something and would want to "settle", you NEVER KNOW... it COULD be a scam artist trying to take you for a ride!)